Symposium 2021

The symposium will take place the 12-13 June 2021 (and Monday morning for those of you who are in Australia and New Zealand) and consist of 6 presentation sessions and 2 more general panel discussions. As it is a global event we have tried to spread the live sessions across different time zones so that everyone will have the chance to participate in at least half of symposium in real-time. 

 

Each group of presentations will be followed by a panel discussion and we have planned two extra panel discussions for an open discussion about lace in Art & Design close the event.

 

All the sessions will be recorded and uploaded in here on the platform as well.

 

2021 Symposium Programme

 

 

Session 1: Lace as Sustenance

 

Saturday 12 June: NZ 9-11pm | Sydney 7-9pm | EU/South Africa 11am-1pm | UK/Ireland 10am-12noon |

New York 5-7am | Los Angeles 2-4am

 

Mariña Regueiro  “She learned how to write her name so that everyone could see she was an artist”: The life and lace of Cándida García Irajudo

Jane Atkinson  The Time of Their Lives: Narrowing the Lace Generation Gap

Fiona Harrington  Fragile Economies: Lace Making & Women's Work in Ireland at the Turn of the 20th Century

 

 

 

Session 2: Lace in Public Spaces - Part 1

 

Saturday 12 June: NZ 1-3am (next day) | Sydney 11pm-1am | EU/South Africa 3-5pm | UK/Ireland 2-4pm |

New York 9-11am | Los Angeles 6-8am  

 

Manca Ahlin  Lace in Space

Paula Hart  Lace, Industrial Collaboration & Public Art

Lindy de Wijn  The Lace Maker, the Arborist and the Heritage Listing: A Modern Tale of Lace in Public Spaces 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Session 3: Lace in Public Spaces - Part 2

 

Sunday 13 June: NZ 5-7am | Sydney 3-5am 

Saturday 12 June: EU/South Africa 7-9pm | UK/Ireland 6-8pm | New York 1-3pm | Los Angeles 10am-12noon  

 

Olivia Valentine & Paula Matthusen   between systems and grounds: sound and feedback-based bobbin lace 

Tarmo Thorström  To Wonder Like a Child: Bobbin lace journey of exploration

 

 

 

 

 

Session 4: Stories & Still Life in Lace

 

Sunday 13 June: NZ 9-11am | Sydney 7-9am

Saturday 12 June: EU/South Africa 11pm-1am | UK/Ireland 10pm-12midnight | New York 5-7pm |

Los Angeles 2-4pm 

 

April Dauscha  Artist Talk: “exploring morality, transformation, penance, and communication through dress”

Maggie Hensel-Brown  Story-Telling in Contemporary Needle Lace

Kathryn Harris  Where Basketry & Needle Lace Meet

 

Session 5: Lace in Body Ornament & Cultural Narrative

 

Sunday 13 June: NZ 8-10pm | Sydney 6-8pm | EU/South Africa 10am-12noon | UK/Ireland 9-11am |

New York 4-6am | Los Angeles 1-3am 

 

Rowan Panther  Artist talk about her work exploring her Samoan/Irish/English heritage through her wearable pieces made with traditional New Zealand stripped flax “Muka”

Kim Lieberman  Reframing the History of Lace | Lace from Europe | Lace in Africa  

Lauran Sundin  Artist Talk About the Her Journey into Bobbin Lace to Make Her Sculptural Jewelry

 

Session 6: New Directions & Technical Approaches in Lace

 

Monday 14 June: NZ 12midnight-2am

Sunday 13 June: Sydney 10pm-12midnight | EU/South Africa 2-4pm | UK/Ireland 1-3pm | New York 8-10am |

Los Angeles 5-7am 

 

Pierre Fouché  The 4-Hexagon Cluster and the 6-Hexagon Ring as the Basic Units of Binche Cloth Work

Veronika Irvine  Using Mathematics as a Tool to Learn More About Bobbin Lace

 

Session 7: Where do we go from here?

 

Monday 14 June: NZ 4-6am | Sydney 2-4am

Sunday 13 June: EU/South Africa 6-8pm | UK/Ireland 5-7pm | New York 12noon-2pm | Los Angeles 9-11am

 

Panel discussion about finding new ways to move lace forward in visual arts and design.

 

Session 8: Lessons from DFZ 2021

 

Monday 14 June: NZ 8-10am | Sydney 6-8am

Sunday 13 June: EU/South Africa 10pm-12midnight | UK/Ireland 9-11pm | New York 4-6pm | Los Angeles 1-3pm  

 

Panel discussion reflecting on the work presented during the symposium; revelations, inspiration and an opportunity to share reflections about the artists who have presented this year.  

1.png
2.png
3.png
4.png
5.png
6.png
7.png
8.png